WSAE Awards


Do you know a member who . . .

  • Promotes outstanding leadership and achievement in association management?
  • Works with outstanding professionalism and exemplary service to the association community?
  • Consistently promotes the association industry in Wisconsin?
  • Demonstrates involvement and commitment to the association management field on a continuous basis?

Nominate them for an award - The next award nomination period opens Summer 2024!

Excellence in Professional Service Awards

Association Leadership Award
Awarded for demonstrated leadership within the recipient’s association, profession or the association community through one or more of the Values of WSAE (inclusion, integrity, shaping the future and a positive attitude and passion for association management).

2023 Nichole Nikolic
2022 Rose Oswald Poels
2021 Bill Elliott, CAE
2020 Kirsten Reader
2019 Marc Cohen
2018 Tara Withington, CAE
2017 Michelle Vetterkind, CAE
2016 Kristine Hillmer, MBA, CAE
2015 Tifani Jones
2014 Jerry Deschane, CAE
2014 Visit Milwaukee
2013 Eric Lanke, CAE
2012 Michelle Mason, FASAE, CAE
2012 Sheila R. Hilke

Visionary Award
Awarded for outstanding commitment to their association, profession or the association community’s innovation and leadership as evidenced by one or more of the Core Competencies of WSAE (leadership/mentorship, knowledge, community impact).

2023 Jennie Socha, CAE
2022 Jamie Michael
2021 Mike Theo, CAE
2020 Kristine Hillmer, MBA, CAE
Brandon Scholz
2019 Tony Veroeven
2018 Sherry Budziak
Brenda Taylor
2017 Kelly Veit, IOM
2016 Rebecca Brandt, CAE
2015 Mike DiFrisco
2014 Stephen Peeler
2013 Lani Becker, CAE
2012 Robert J. Foulks, CFO

Hall of Fame Award
Awarded for demonstrating involvement and commitment to the association management field on a continuous basis.

2022 Kathy Raab, CAE, CNAP
2021 Eric Lanke, CAE
2020 Christine Pepper, CAE, MBA
2019 Jane Svinicki, CAE
2017 Gail Bast, MBA, CAE
2016 William St. John, CAE
2015 Ross Ament, MA, CAE
2014 David Baumann
2012 Jeanne E. Rude, CAE
2011 Amy Bliss, CAE
2010 Ross Kinzler
2009 Barb Kachelski, CAE
2008 Gary Manke, CAE
2007 Gary Williams, CAE
2006 Carole Badger, CAE
2005 Dennis McGuire

Young Professional Award
Awarded to a young professional that is making a difference with their contributions to WSAE, their association or the association management field, made evident by their contributions to WSAE and their interest in both personal and professional development.

2023 Shannon Casey
2022 Monica Goeke, CAE
2021 Ashtin Neuschaefer, CAE
2020 Elizabeth Schlicht, CAE
2019 Jennie L.S. Socha, CAE
2018 Erica Halmstad
2017 Emily Viles
2016 Lisa Fitch, CAE
2015 Aaron Manogue
2014 Dana Murn-Kohal

Industry Advocate

2011 Dan Borshke, FASAE, MA, CAE
2010 Susan Goodspeed Miller, CAE
2008 Maryann Dillon, CAE
2007 Daryll Lund, CAE
2006 Kay Whalen, CAE

Member of the Year

2011 Ross Ament, MA, CAE
2010 Eric Lanke, CAE
2009 Christine Pepper, CAE
2008 Ann Barret, CAE
2007 David Feldner, CAE
2006 Gary Manke, CAE

Industry Partner of the Year

2011 Tera Sagen
2010 Sharon Nerison
2009 Dann Carr
2008 Marin Medema
2007 Cindy Foley, CMP
2006 Tracy Renner

Innovation Awards

To promote innovative thinking and recognize outstanding examples of innovation in organizations, WSAE introduced the Innovation Awards in 2012. The following associations were recognized at the 2012 National Summit on Innovation for Associations.

Innovative Approach to Technology Research and Development

2012 The National Association of College Stores

Innovation in Academia

2012 UW-MANIAC, the Madison Area Network for Innovation and Collaboration

Freedom to Fail

2012 The National Association of College Stores